Helena’s Carnival Portraits

So today, Saturday 5th, the Carnaval holidays start. In some places (in Brazil) it started back in December,  while in many others it is commemorated on Tuesday only, but you get the drift. I am not a Carnaval fan, actually I am not a fan of many “festive days” that have the Church’s finger on it. It always rang wrong on me the way the church deturped the original meaning of certain popular festivities. But to me, Carnaval has always been the worst. It precedes Lent, that 40-day period of moderation, prayer, penitence and charity. And all the monkey business that go down in these days doesn’t make sense to me. “Oh, I’ll party like an ass for 3 days, so I can endure 40 of moderation”… uhun… whatever, this is a happy post and I’ll give you some happy now.

~~~~~

Então hoje, Sábado dia 5 de Março, começa o Carnaval. Em alguns lugares (no Brazil) começou em Dezembro, enquanto em muitos outros é comemorado apenas na Terça-feira Gorda, mas deu para entender. Eu não gosto do Carnaval, na verdade não sou fã de muitos feriados que tenham o dedinho da Igreja no meio. Sempre me soou muito mal o jeito que deturparam o significado original de tantas festividades populares. Mas pra mim, Carnaval sempre foi o pior, o pior!!! Carnaval precede a Quaresma, aquele período de 40 dias de moderação, oração, penitência e caridade. E as porquices que acontecem durante esses dias de festa não fazem o menor sentido pra mim. “Oh, vou festejar feito um porco por 3 dias, para aguentar os 40 dias de moderação”… uhum, porque as pessoas observam mesmo as restrições e orações da Quaresma. Enfim, esse é para ser um post feliz, e é o que eu vou fazer a partir de agora.

For those who haven’t met her, this is Helena Victoria, my niece. And this photo above is with the original unedited colors. Yesterday she was dressed  like a plumed ballerina, her school was having a little carnaval ball party, so all the kids were supposed to dress up in some costume. And everytime she thinks she is looking gorgeous she asks me to take pictures of her. When she thinks she is looking ugly, she runs away from the camera. That’s one of the ways I get her to go get a shower. She always thinks she is looking gorgeous after she takes a shower.

~~~~~

Para aqueles que ainda não conhecem, essa é Helena Victoria, minha sobrinha. E essa foto acima é com as cores originais, não-editadas. Ontem ela se vestiu de bailarina com plumas, haveria um pequeno baile de carnaval na escolinha dela, então todas as crianças tiveram que se fantasiar de alguma coisa. E toda vez que ela acha que está linda ela me pede para tirar fotos dela. Quando ela acha que está feia, ela foge da câmera. Essa é uma das maneiras que eu faço para fazê-la tomar banho. Ela sempre acha que está linda depois do banho.

She always has so much fun taking photos, she loves to have her pictures taken. Sometimes she is a little bit too smiley, and when I ask her to “smile less”, she gets serious or “sad looking”.

~~~~~

Ela sempre se diverte um monte quando tiro fotos dela, ela adooora que façam fotos suas. Às vezes ela dá uns sorrisos enormes demais, e quando eu peço para ela sorrir menos, ela fica séria ou fica parecendo que está triste.

(feather on the nose, teeheeehee – pena no nariz hehehe)

But I think that in this last one, she nailed it! She is looking so cute and adorable! And cute! And gorgeous! Also, I really do think she is looking like Emma Watson😛 You are free to disagree, but I won’t change my mind!😉

~~~~~

Mas eu acho que ela acertou em cheio nessa última foto. Ela está tão linda e adorável! E linda! E fofa! E também, eu acho que ela está parecida com a Emma Watson. Você pode discordar, mas eu realmente acho que ela está parecida!😉

Ah! And while I was photographing Helena, Victor Hugo showed up. He wanted to have his picture taken too. He was supposed to be Harry Potter. ^.^

You should see how mad Helena got because he was “disturbing her photoshoot”… hahahahha😀

~~~~~

Ah! E enquanto eu estava fotografando a Helena, o Victor Hugo apareceu. Ele queria que eu tirasse fotos dele também. Ele era para ser o Harry Potter. ^.^

Vocês deviam ter visto como ela ficou braaava porque ele estava “atrapalhando o ensaio dela”… hahahahha ai gente, a Helena me mata!😀


This entry was posted in bokeh, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Helena’s Carnival Portraits

  1. caLIN says:

    🙂 clever look … nice captures!

  2. João Henriques says:

    Oi eu vou comprar uma Canon 500D no final deste mês, e queria saber quais lentes é que você usa? se poder dizer

    P.S: Muito boas fotos, e como iniciante em fotografia irei seguir o seu blog e Flickr

    João Henriques (Portugal)

  3. Doug Bauman says:

    Helena is a great model. So many facial expressions – she’s a natural. Don’t party too much, or repent too much thereafter.

  4. wow I can see a bit of the Watson in her face!

  5. Lexie says:

    Lovely pictures. Especially the one with the supposed Harry Potter, so cute. Thanks for the comment on my blog😉 !

Leave a Reply

