The Panoramic Route: God’s Window, The Pinacle, Bourke’s Luck Potholes & Blyde River Canyon

The road trip day! Finally we were taking off for a great adventure! Tatiana and I woke up at 5 in the morning, to arrive early at Thais &  Bruno’s place (they are a beautiful and lovely young couple that traveled with us) and then head on to the Kruger National Park. Actually we had decided the day before that we should spend the day going about the panoramic route and that was a choice well made.

~~~~~

O dia da viagem! Finalmente nós estávamos saindo para uma grande aventura! Tatiana e eu acordamos às 5 da manhã para chegar cedo à casa da Thais e do Bruno (um juvem casal muito bonito e muito querido que viajou com a gente) e então nos dirigimos para o Parque Nacional de Kruger. Na verdade nós havíamos decidido que nós passaríamos o dia visitando alguns lugares da rota panorâmica e essa foi uma decisão muito bem tomada.

One thing that one soons notices is the smog, the dust and smoke in the atmosphere. Like I mentioned on flickr, they put the bushes to the fire, to help prevent bigger fires that would be harder if not impossible to control. Also like I mentioned, this does horrors to the quality of the air.

~~~~~

Uma coisa que logo se percebe é a neblina de fumaça, muita poeira e fumaça na atmosfera. Como eu mencionei no flickr, eles ateiam fogo no mato e arbustos para ajudar a evitar fogos maiores, que seriam mais difíceis ou impossíveis de combater. Também como eu mencionei, isso faz horrores à qualidade do ar. 

Our first stop was at God’s Window, in the region of Mpumalanga. God’s Window is a small part of a 250km long earthwork of sheer cliffs and extravagant beauty. One can observe the hills and forests as far as the eye can see (which wasn’t much in this day, because of the smog). It’s said that on a clear day, “one can see forever”. The trail is small, so it’s a quick visit to a beautiful view.

~~~~~

Nossa primeira parada foi na “Janela de Deus”, na região de Mpumalanga. A “Janela de Deus” é uma pequena parte dos 250km de paisagem extravagante. Pode-se observar colinas e florestas até onde os olhos podem ver (o que não era muito nesse dia, estava beeeem nublado de poeira). Mas dizem que numa dia limpo “uma pessoa pode ver para sempre”. A trilha é pequena, então é uma visita rápida à uma bela vista.

 At the top of the trail, one of the very few photos I took with my tripod. By the way, all the photos in which I’m alone were taken by my dear friend Tatiana. On the right, Thais and Bruno🙂

~~~~~

No topo da trilha, uma das poucas fotos que tirei com meu tripé. A propósito, todas as fotos nas quais estou sozinha foram tiradas pela minha querida amiga Tatiana. À direita, Thais e Bruno🙂

Next was The Pinnacle, which is a single quartzite column rising out of the deep wooded canyon. I don’t know what happened to the photos I took in landscape orientation and I was left with only this one, which I should be thankful for, I suppose.

~~~~~

O próximo foi O Pináculo, que é uma coluna de sílex que se ergue solitário em um canyon profundo e florestado (acho que acabei de inventar essa palavra, mas beleza). Eu não sei o que aconteceram com as fotos que tirei em orientação de paisagem e fiquei apenas com essa foto… acho que tenho que agradecer por pelo menos isso. 

I was taking a picture of them, Tati was taking a picture of me!😉

~~~~~

Eu estava fazendo uma foto deles, a Tati estava fazendo uma foto minha!😉

It was actually very windy there, the strong wind felt like it was going to “make me fly” and even at a “safe” edge I thought for a second: “I die now!” lol ^.^

~~~~~~

Na verdade estava ventando bastante lá, e o vento forte me fez sentir como se fosse me “fazer voar” e mesmo em uma beirada “segura” eu pensei por um segundo: “É agora que eu morro!” hehehe ^.^

Then, we went to the Bourke’s Luck Potholes in the Treur River

The photo above are the luck potholes. People throw a coin and make a wish. Tati didn’t have any coins with her at the time and I said: “Oh I think I have a quarter (of a Real)”, to which she replied: “Oh, that’s perfect! A brazilian wish is going to work!”. She asked for an awesome safari. And I gotta say, maybe that coin really helped!😉

~~~~~

A foto acima são os “buracos da sorte”. Pessoas jogam uma moeda e fazem um pedido. A Tati não tinha nenhuma moeda com ela no momento e eu disse: “Ah! Eu acho que tenho 25 centavos (de real)”, e ela respondeu: “Ah! Perfeito! Um pedido bem brasileiro vai funcionar!”. Ela pediu por um safari maravilhoso. E eu devo dizer, acho que a moeda realmente ajudou!😉

I gotta say I loved these potholes. There are others in South Africa, said to be more impressive, but as the first I have seen, they are gorgeous🙂

~~~~~

Eu adorei essas piscinas naturais. Existem outras na África do Sul, que dizem que são maiores e mais impressionantes, mas como foram as primeiras que eu vi, achei lindas🙂

As we were exiting this area, we passed by a cafe and we were given a little show by some monkeys stealing food and a mug of sugar. The big monkey just almost choked due to gorging down all that sugar.

~~~~~~

Quando estávamos indo embora, passamos por uma cafeteria e uns macacos deram show roubando comida e uma xícara de açúcar. O macaco maior quase engasgou por ser um esganado e mandar pra dentro todo aquele açúcar.

And then, the fabulous Blyde River Canyon and the Three Rondavels. What a place, what a view! This amazing view is part of the “panoramic route” in the Mpumalanga region. The Blyde River Canyon is the third largest canyon in the world and is said to be either the only green canyon or the largest green canyon in the world.
It consists mostly of red sandstone and the best view in the whole of the Blyde River Canyon is that of the “three Rondavels”, huge, round rocks, thought to be reminiscent of the houses or huts of the indigenous people of Africa.
The famous Panorama route starts in the town of Graskop, and includes Bourke’s Luck Potholes, a number of waterfalls, the Pinnacle and God’s Window. Some people often include the waterfalls of Sabie, the gold rush town of Pilgrims Rest and the various excursions and adventure activities around Hazyview as part of the panoramic route as well.
Before going to South Africa I had done some research, but I also had the help of some great people on what to do, what to see, where to stay, etc… so I would like to thank Giampaolo Cianella and Christopher Stavrinides for taking so much of their time to help me. It’s really appreciated🙂

~~~~~

E então, o Canyon do Rio Feliz e as Três Cabanas (não vou ficar mais traduzindo o nome dos lugares, fica tão tosco! kkkk). Que lugar lindo, que vista maravilhosa! Essa linda paisagem faz parte da rota panorâmica da região de Mpumalanga. O Blyde River Canyon é o terceiro maior canyon do mundo e diz-se que é o único canyon verde ou o maior canyon verde do mundo. Consiste em sua maioria de arenito vermelho, e a melhor vista é à partir das “Três Rondavels”, que são três rochas imensas, redondas, que dizem se parecem com as cabanas africanas. 

Essa rota famosa começa na cidade de Graskop, e inclui o Bourke’s Luck Potholes, várias cachoeiras, o Pináculo e God’s Window. Algumas pessoas também incluem as cachoeiras de Sabie, a cidade mineradora de Pilgrim’s Rest (o Descanso do Peregrino) e várias excursões e atividades de aventura na região de Hazyview (Vista Nebulosa) como parte da rota panorâmica.

We just stayed there for a while, admiring the view (and waiting for some people to make the “vertigo rock” available for us to take pictures as well, but they just didn’t, so we left without one of the coolest photos we can make in this place. Frustrating… I should had gone This-is-Spart batsh*t crazy on them. ) Nonetheless, I was really happy to have such memories with Tatiana, who’s one of my dearest friends and one of the best people I know.

~~~~~

Nós ficamos lá um tempo, admirando a vista (e esperando um povo liberar a “pedra da vertigem” para nós fazermos umas fotos também, mas eles não saíram, nem com os olhares q eu fiquei dando, então nós fomos embora sem tirar uma das fotos mais legais que se pode fazer nesse lugar. Frustrante… eu devia ter dado uma de Lêonidas-this-is-Sparta neles. De qualquer forma, eu fiquei muito feliz em compartilhar essa vista e lembranças com a Tatiana, uma das minhas amigas mais queridas e uma das melhores pessoas que eu conheço.

After that, we headed to Hazyview, where we were staying. The next post is at the Kruger Park! ^.^

~~~~~

Depois disso fomos para Hazyview, onde ficava nosso hotel. O próximo post é no Parque Kruger! ^.^

This entry was posted in Landscape, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Panoramic Route: God’s Window, The Pinacle, Bourke’s Luck Potholes & Blyde River Canyon

  1. Tati Barro says:

    Oh my God, how much silk tearing for me!
    haha, very poor translation, but the Brazilians will understand😉
    Love the pics, the trip, the company, it all =)

  2. Tha says:

    Anna, as fotos ficaram lindas!! Amei essa viagem com vocês, foi muito mais do que eu esperava. Bjs

  3. Ken says:

    This is a wonderful collection of photos of what is clearly an amazing place. It’s good to see you were enjoying yourself so much with such nice friends – these are memories that will last for ever!
    Ken xox

  4. jan de kok says:

    Great pictures and what a great trip AnnA! Jealoussssssss😀 Thanks a lot for sharing your SA adventure! .. and you’re blessed with really nice friends showing you around d’-‘b

  5. Chloe says:

    that what some road trip! awesome photographs, i would have been slightly freaked out by the height of that place

  6. Guilherme says:

    Hey babs! Muito legais as fotos, parabéns!

    Looking forward to see the other ones!!!

    Bjo!

  7. Douglas Bauman says:

    Two beautiful women in green — that would be my dream! And what gorgeous landscapes.

  8. jeronimooo says:

    A sua sensibilidade é incrível, fico constantemente encantado! Que os bons ventos continuem soprando em sua jornada!

  9. Dr. Paul A. Curto says:

    Natural beauty that takes your breath away. Wondrous photos, Anna!

Leave a Reply

