Johannesburg Botanical Gardens

I had the whole week to go around places, and I did a little bit of sight seeing but not nearly as much as I thought I would. I was planning on renting a car, but only after I saw the  way the “taxi vans” drive there that I felt utterly non-confident about driving there at all! Tatiana said she felt the same when she arrived, her fiancé and her mother as well, so the problem really doesn’t dwell in me.  There is no public transportation to speak of in Johannesburg.  You have to have a car to go around, specially since I was forbidden to use the “taxi vans”, and I wouldn’t know the signs anyway. Just how difficult is it to get a bus fleet going about places, I wonder…

~~~~~

Eu tinha a semana inteira para passear pela cidade e eu fiz alguns passeios, mas nem perto do que eu havia planejado antes de fazer a viagem. Eu havia planejado alugar um carro, mas foi só depois de ver o horror que é o trânsito daquela cidade por conta das “vans de lotação” que eu me senti completamente insegura de pegar um carro lá. A Tati disse que sentiu o mesmo quando chegou, o noivo e a mãe dela também, então o problema não é comigo. Não tem transporte público na cidade, você tem que ter um carro para ir a lugares, principalmente depois que eu fui proibida de chegar perto dessas lotações, e eu não saberia que sinais usar de qualquer forma. Queria saber qual a dificuldade de botar uma frota de ônibus fazendo rotas pela cidade… 

So to go to the Johannesburg Botanical Gardens I called a Pink Cab – Transportation for Women. The taxi vans I mentioned are not exactly safe for white people, it’s said, specially for women, so this pink taxi has a female driver, it’s not so expensive and above all it’s safe. Anyone interested in using their services, the phone is 0861777778.  As I waited for the cab, I was amusing myself with spring flowers start to make themselves seen all around the place where my friend lives.

~~~~~

Então para ir ao Jardim Botânico de Johanesburgo eu chamei um Taxi Rosa – transporte para mulheres. As lotações que eu mencionei não são exatamente seguras para pessoas brancas, segundo me disseram, especialmente para mulheres, então esse taxi rosa tem uma motorista mulher, não é tão caro e acima de tudo é seguro. Se alguém estiver interessado em usar o serviço deles, o telefone é  0861777778. Enquanto eu esperava pelo taxi, eu fiquei me divertindo com as flores da primavera que se faziam notar por todo lugar onde minha amiga mora.

Spring most definetely hadn’t arrived at the Botanical Gardens yet, which’s a shame! The place has a gooorgeous “Shakespierre Garden” full of rose bushes and cherry trees. I’ve seen some photos made on spring time and it’s a beauty to die for! But as for my visit at the place, while it was lovely, I felt like it’s not exactly a turistic place to go (specially on winter), but rather a fantastic place to go on weekends if you live there. People  go there to take their dogs for a walk (or swim at the artificial lakes), ride  bicycles, jog or have a picnic.

~~~~~

A primavera definitivamente não chegou aos Jardins Botânicos ainda, o que foi uma pena! O lugar tem um Jardim Shakesperiano liiiindo, cheio de pés de rosas e cerejeiras. Eu vi algumas fotos feitas no período da primavera e é de uma beleza apaixonante! Mas a minha visita lá, embora muito agradável, eu senti que lá não era exatamente um lugar muito turístico (principalmente no inverno), mas sim um lugar fantástico para se ir nos fins de semana se você mora lá. Pessoas vão lá para levar os cachorros para passear (ou nadar nos lagos artificiais), andar de bicicleta, correr ou fazer piquenique.

Chasing each other off, they did that a lot.

~~~~~

Brigandinho se perseguindo o tempo todo

I can never get over the fact that they literally put everything to the fire. Even at the Botanical Gardens. I once read that fire is actually  part of nature cycle’s in some places. According to the text I read, fire has always been a part of certain ecosystems. Even the animal lives lost is part of the process and new life sprouts from the charred lands. BUT… again: air quality! South Africa’s quality is rated -5 in my opinion. They should come up with a wiser solution to help prevent big fires.

~~~~~

Eu não consigo superar o fato de que eles literalmente botam fogo em tudo. Até nos Jardins Botânicos. Uma vez eu li que fogo na verdade é parte do ciclo da natureza em alguns lugares.  Segundo o texto que eu li fogo sempre fez parte de certos ecosistemas.  Mesmo vidas animais perdidas fazem parte do processo e vida nova brota de terras queimadas. MAS… novamente: qualidade do ar! A qualidade do ar na África do Sul recebe uma nota de -5 na minha opinião. Eles deveriam pensar em uma solução mais sábia para ajudar a prevenir grandes queimadas.

Hasta later, minasan!😉

This entry was posted in bokeh, Flowers, Landscape, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Johannesburg Botanical Gardens

  1. Tati Barro says:

    The boy in the picture has such a familiar face, as if he could be my neighbor.
    O haven’t gone back to the gardens… have to take my bike there for a ride.

  2. Guilherme says:

    Hey babs! Que jardim gostoso! Realmente bem bacana para andar de bike!

    Belas fotos!

    Bjo!

  3. Elisha says:

    My family members every time say that I am killing my
    time here at net, but I know I am getting know-how daily by reading thes good articles
    or reviews.

Leave a Reply

