Le Trip to Rio de Janeiro, Fifth day

Oh wait, where’s forth day? Sunday (my forth day in Rio) rained like crazy, a real deluge! And I was shooting a wedding, which will be shown only later on. So… monday. I had only the morning to explore the city, but I was alone. All my friends were working this day. I had decided to visit the Largo to Boticário. It’s a historic place, now being illegally occupied by homeless people.

~~~~~

Yo, cadê o quarto dia? Domingo (meu quarto dia no Rio) choveu pra car*lho, um verdadeiro dilúvio! E eu estava fotografando um casamento, cujas fotos só serão publicadas em uma outra oportunidade. Então… segunda-feira. Eu tinha apenas a manhã para explorar um pouco mais da cidade, mas eu estava sozinha. Todos meus amigos estavam trabalhando, claro. Eu tinha decidido que queria ir ver o Largo do Boticário. 

Várias histórias minhas poderiam ter terminado em: “… e foi assim que ela morreu…” kkkk 
O Largo do Boticário é um lugar histórico, que hoje é um cortiço. 
Meus amigos cariocas ficaram me alertando para não ir lá sozinha, que é perigoso e tal. Mas nesse dia não tinha ninguém para andar comigo. 
Cheguei ao Largo e comecei a fazer algumas fotos do pátio quando escuto passos no corredor da casa azul.
Sai uma mulher, me vê e diz: “Oi doçura, pode entrar, está aberto para visitação”. Por dois segundos eu me senti como uma ovelha me dirigindo lindamente ao matadouro, e pior! Aceitando whatever destino cruel me fosse dado! Sério! kkkk
Mas na real eu sei que não é assim que eu vou morrer. E fui toda serelepe visitar o interior, e como tudo o mais no Rio, correu tudo bem, fiz algumas fotos interessantes e deixei meu amigo Rixa morto de inveja por eu ter entrado no lugar! haha

Rio-de-Janeiro-largo-do-boticario Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-02 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-03 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-04 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-05-l Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-06 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-07 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-08 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-09

That’s one of the boys living there. He’s 17 years old and he’s married to the girl in the photo with the baby. He was really nice and polite. She was quite shy.

~~~~~

Esse é um dos garotos morando no cortiço. Ele tem 17 anos e é casado com a menina com o bebê na foto acima. Ele foi bem tranquilo e educado. Ela estava bem tímida.

Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-10 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-11 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-12 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-13 Rio-de-Janeiro-Largo-do-Boticário-14

After the apothecary’s place, I just went down the Laranjeiras street ’till the Flamengo beach…

~~~~~

Depois do Largo do Boticário, eu fui caminhando pela Rua das Laranjeiras até o Aterro do Flamengo…

Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-01 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-02 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-03 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-04 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-05 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-07 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-08 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-09 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-10 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-11 Rio-de-Janeiro-Rua-das-Laranjeiras-12

Praia-do-Flamengo-01 Praia-do-Flamengo-02 Praia-do-Flamengo-03 Praia-do-Flamengo-04 Praia-do-Flamengo-05

Enseada-Botafogo

Sushizes no restaurante “Alma Carioca”. Por algum motivo o sashimi estava muito mais gostoso do que em qualquer outro lugar que comi na vida!! Já o arroz dos uramakis não estava lá aquelas coisas😛

Restaurante-Alma-Carioca

Back to my friend’s place, her cat was lurking under my bed again… and I thought her house deserved a few photos as well😉

~~~~~

De volta à casa da minha amiga, a gata dela estava de tocaia novamente… esse bicho me deu vários sustos durante minha estadia. Sabe aquela hora que você acha que está sozinha no quarto e “algo” espirra logo atrás de você? Quase derrubei meu pc no chão com essa palhaçada da gata… Enfim, eu achei que a casa da Bia merecia algumas fotos também😉

Rio-de-Janeiro-Casa-da-Bia-01 Rio-de-Janeiro-Casa-da-Bia-02

I think Bia and Rixa have such great taste for decoration! I loved their houses and I loved spending time with them! I’m most thankful for all my friends who hosted me and took me around the city! Makes me want to go back many times more!

~~~~~

Eu acho que a Bia e o Rixa têm um gosto sensacional para decoração! Eu adorei a casa deles e adorei passar um tempo com eles! Eu sou muito grata aos amigos que me hospedaram e me levaram para passear pela cidade! Me faz querer voltar muitas vezes mais! 

Rio-de-Janeiro-Casa-da-Bia-03 Rio-de-Janeiro-Casa-da-Bia-04 Rio-de-Janeiro-Casa-da-Bia-05 Rio-de-Janeiro-Casa-da-Bia-06 Rio-de-Janeiro-Casa-da-Bia-07 Rio-de-Janeiro-Casa-da-Bia-08

This entry was posted in Landscape, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Le Trip to Rio de Janeiro, Fifth day

  1. VisitSiena says:

    seems wonderful there🙂

  2. Ken says:

    If I wanted to visit a place but couldn’t get there in person, I’d send you to take photos—your eye for a picture and your ability to see what’s interesting make your photographs a wonderful record of your travels. It makes me feel as though I’ve been there myself, though I doubt I would register half as much as you seem to see everywhere you go. This is a magnificent collection of pictures, AnnA—very well done!

  3. Joe says:

    Anna – I echo Ken’s comments above. I have never seen such vivid and intimate portraits of Rio. You capture the colors, tropical verdure and the people so well, along with the occasional lurking fear and evidence of poverty. You do this with great empathy, but don’t spoil it with pity. Thanks for sharing your vision.

  4. Keith says:

    Lovely record of where you went. The decaying parts have a sort of melancholy beauty contrasting with the cheerful colours of the new.

  5. Sartenada says:

    I am happy when seeing Your great photos. It was in the seventies, when I visited last time in Rio!

Leave a Reply

