Pergamon Museum

Summertime is always a busy time to visit turistic places. I should rethink my traveling strategies, because I didn’t visit a few places in Berlin because of the huuuuge waiting lines. I didn’t go to the parliament, for example, because of the 4-5 hour line to get inside. I had to face one huge line though. The one to get in the Pergamon Museum. THREE HOURS AND FORTY MINUTES to get inside!! FML! And inside it took me three hours to see it all. Anyway, the museum has an impressive collection of Assirian art, it’s worth a visit…

~~~~~

Verão é uma época tensa para visitar lugares turísticos. Eu deveria repensar minhas estratégias de viagens, porque eu não consegui entrar em alguns lugares em Berlim por conta das filas imeeeensas. Eu não fui ao parlamento por exemplo, por causa da fila de 4 a 5 horas de espera para entrar. Vê bem… mas eu tive que encarar uma fila filha da puta para entrar no Pergamon. TRÊS HORAS E QUARENTA MINUTOS para entrar no museu! Mai fóoode com a minha vida memo! E no museu eu levei 3 horas para ver tudo. De qualquer forma, o museu tem uma coleção de arte assíria que vale muito a visita.

Pergamon-Museum-Ishtar-Gate-01

One of the big features of the museum is the Ishtar Gate, I mean, a little part of it. You can read a little about it on wikipedia, if you feel like. The gate was featured on the movie Alexander the Great with a few artistic liberties taken.

~~~~~

Um dos grandes atrativos do museu é o Portão de Ishtar, quero dizer, um pedacinho dele. Se quiserem, vocês podem ler um pouco sobre no wikipedia. O portão também apareceu no filme Alexandre o Grande, com algumas liberdades artísticas.

Pergamon-Museum-Ishtar-Gate-02

 Pergamon-Museum Pergamon-Museum-03

The museum gets its name from the Pergamon Altar, which is partly reconstructed inside de museum and displays the Titanomachy (the war of Titans agains the Olympians) and it’s pretty damn impressive! Below, Athenas and Nike bring the house down for the Giant Alcyoneus, Gaia rises from the ground pleading for her soon to be killed son.

~~~~~

O museu deve seu nome ao Altar de Pérgamo, que está parcialmente reconstruído dentro do museu e mostra cenas da Titanomaquia (a guerra entre Titãs e Olimpianos) e é impressionante pra caralho! Abaixo, Athenas e Nike lutam contra Alcyoneus, Gaia surge do chão para implorar pela vida do seu filho que está prestes a ser morto.

Pergamon-Museum-04 Pergamon-Museum-05

Below, a drawing of what the altar might have looked like.

~~~~

Abaixo, um desenho de como deveria ser o alter nos tempos antigos.

Pergamon-Museum-06

And a model of the Altar.

~~~~

E uma maquete do Altar.

Pergamon-Museum-07 Pergamon-Museum-08

This Lamassu ( Assyrian protective deity, often depicted with a bull or lion’s body, eagle’s wings, and human’s head) is a f***ing plaster cast from the original in the British Museum, I so deeply hate copies… I feel so cheated… anyway, I got to see the originals in London back in 2005😛

~~~~~

Esse Lamassu (divindade protetora assíria, geralmente representada com corpo de leão ou touro, asas de águia e cabeça humana) é uma cópia do original no Museu Britânico. Eu deteeesto cópias, me sinto enganada com cópias… mas de qualquer forma, eu vi os originais em Londres em 2005😛

Pergamon-Museum-09 Pergamon-Museum-10Art in vases often inspire me on my work.

~~~~~

Arte nos vasos muitas vezes me inspira nos meus trabalhos.

Pergamon-Museum-11 Pergamon-Museum-12 Pergamon-Museum-13I want gates like this in the entrance of my city😀

~~~~~

Eu quero portões assim na entrada da minha cidade😀

 Pergamon-Museum-14 Pergamon-Museum-15 Pergamon-Museum-16 Pergamon-Museum-17

Pergamon-Museum-18 Pergamon-Museum-19 Pergamon-Museum-20 Pergamon-Museum-21 Pergamon-Museum-22

Pergamon-Museum-23

Another piece of someone else’s wall…

Pergamon-Museum-24 Pergamon-Museum-25 Pergamon-Museum-26 Pergamon-Museum-27

The image below is one of the many walls from a rich merchant’s home. It depicts the sceneries from many different religions as to show respect for the many different guests this important man had in his home. The amount of detail is overwhelming!

~~~~~~

A imagem abaixo é de uma das muitas paredes da casa de um mercador rico. Ela mostra cenas de várias religiões diferentes, com o intuito de mostrar respeito pelas crenças de seus vários visitantes e hóspedes. O tanto de detalhes é coisa de louco!

Pergamon-Museum-28

Pergamon-Museum-29

Banana caramel brownie and mango with raspberry. Absolute heaven. Why don’t we have a Häagen-Dazs ice-cream shop in my city? -_-

~~~~~

Brownie de banana e caramelo e manga com framboesa. Paraíso absoluto. Porque cacetes não temos sorveteria da Häagen-Dazs em Londrina, hein? -_-

Pergamon-Museum-30

ixthys-01

At night, we had dinner at Ixthys. It’s a Christian Korean restaurant. Evangelic or protestant, not sure. Food is really good, but they don’t sell alcoholic beverages haha… I had a non-alcoholic malzbier.

~~~~~

À noite nós jantamos no Ixthys. É um restaurante coreano cristão. Evangélico ou protestante, não tenho certeza. A comida é muito boa, mas eles não vendem bebida alcóolica haha… eu tomei uma malzbier sem álcool.

ixthys-02 ixthys-03

Brandenburg-Gate-01

Check this photo out, yo! I look so tall  and with some long legs! lol

Ói que magra e pernuda que eu saí nessa foto, hm? Não é à toa que o Marcio fica me zoando falando que voltei popozuda da viagem hahaha é muito sorvete todo dia…

Brandenburg-Gate-02 Brandenburg-Gate-03

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

